Select Language

About the ISPD
Peritoneal Dialysis International: The Official Journal of the ISPD
Scholarships / Awards
Questions about PD
ISPD Guidelines and Standards
Educational Material
Regional Chapters
Events & Meetings
Research Grant for International Studies
Corporate Members
Request ISPD Endorsement of Meeting
Contact Us
John Maher Award

This award is given every 2 years at the ISPD Congress. The John Maher Award was established by the ISPD to honour young individuals who have contributed substantially to the field of peritoneal dialysis. Candidates must be younger than 45 years old and have demonstrated expertise in either the scientific, medical or nursing aspects of PD.

Application Process

Nominations from the nominator must include a CV and a summary of the candidate’s accomplishments.  The Awards Committee will judge the application and advise the council on the winner, based on the excellence in research, clinical attributes in PD, publications, patient impact and recognition at national and international level, and potential for further peritoneal dialysis research.

Please send nominations by email, care of the to the Chairpersons of the Awards committee, Professors Saralevi Naicker and Simon Davies, to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it by December 31, 2013.


Members and non-members can apply. Candidates need to be of age below 45 years by December 31, 2013.

Award Amount

This is for US $5000 and given at the ISPD Congress. The successful candidate is expected to give a lecture at the Congress on his/her work. The ISPD covers the cost of travel in getting to the meeting.

Past Awardees 1995 - 2012

1995    Andrzej Breborowicz and Barbara Prowant (ISPD Congress - Stockholm, Sweden)   
1998    Nicholas Topley (ISPD Congress - Seoul, Korea)
2001    Tao Wang (ISPD Congress  Montréal, Canada)  
2004    Ann De Vriese  (ISPD Congress Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
2006    Angela Yee-Moon Wang and Rajnish Mehrothra  (ISPD Congress Hong Kong, China)
2008    Roberto Pecoits Filho (ISPD Congress Istanbul, Turkey)
2010    Qiang Yao (ISPD Congress Mexico City, Mexico)
2012    CC Szeto (ISPD Congress Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
2014  Karen Yeates (ISPD Congress Madrid, Spain)


The 15th Congress of the International Society for Peritoneal Dialysis


September 7-10, 2014
Madrid, Spain


Upcoming Events